Meghalaya, power is primarily met from the State owned generating company: Mr Comingone

Shillong, October 11: The 18th North Eastern Regional Power Committee (NERPC) Meeting was held today at the State Convention Centre, Shillong under the aegis of the Meghalaya Energy Corporation Limited (MeECL).The meeting, being hosted by Power Department, Government of Meghalaya and Meghalaya Energy Corporation Limited.

Meghalaya Power Minister Mr Comingone Ymbon in his address said that the North East region is endowed with abundant resources for development of power especially hydro potential but most of these remain untapped. Adding that NER is facing some low voltages in several pockets, Mr Ymbon said that in order to address the problems capacitor bank installation has to be put in place.

The Power Minister also informed that in the State of Meghalaya, power is primarily met from the State owned generating company, MePGCL and the present generation capacity is 354.7 MW, with an addition of 40 MW after the recent commissioning and declaration of commercial operation on 1st July, 2017 of the New Umtru Hydro Electric Project. There are two ongoing small hydro projects, namely Ganol HEP and Lakroh HEP.

Survey and investigation is currently underway for 22 Hydro Electric Projects including 16 small hydro projects. The State Government has envisaged development of Solar Power Park in the State and has taken up development of two solar parks of 10 MW each and the transmission sector in the State is being strengthened and expanded through various schemes, including North Eastern Region Power System Improvement Project (NERPSIP), he added.

Mr Ymbon expressed hope that the Meeting will address many issues affecting the power sector of the NER and the outcome of the meeting will significantly contribute towards efficient and reliable grid operation of the region and achieve the common objective of providing 24×7 Power for all at an affordable price.

Others who spoke on the occasion include Mr Manik Dey, Tripura Power Minister, Mr K. Sangtam, Nagaland Power Minister, Mr T. Taga, Arunachal Pradesh Power Minister, Mr Pallab Lochan Das, Assam Minister of State for Power and Shri M.S. Rao, Principal Secretary to the Government of Meghalaya, Power Department. Mr E. W. Nongrum, Technical Coordination Committee (TCC), Chairman and Director (Generation) MePGCL, Mr P. K. Mishra, Member Secretary, NERPC officials from the State Power Departments and utilities, central power utilities, Central Electricity Authority (CEA) and other stake holders in the power sector.


What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment