The X1 a National Mixed Martial Arts Championship concludes in style in Shillong City

Shillong, Sept 24: The X1.In Championship, a National Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) event sanctioned by MMA India, concluded with terrific fights on the final day on Sunday at the Laban SC Indoor Stadium.

Organised by CR Projects, the Shillong leg of the tournament saw hundreds of spectators, both young and old, throng the indoor stadium and cheer on their favourite fighters. Fighters hailed from all over the country, including 14 from Meghalaya and several others from other North East states, like Assam and Nagaland.

As with the first day, there was one Meghalaya winner on Sunday – the young Carnold Marboh, who overcame his opponent Matsung Ozukum by a majority decision of the judges after three gruelling rounds. Marboh joined Johnny Nongrum, who won his bout on Saturday.

The other Meghalayan MMA fighters showed great promise, which is encouraging as the sport is still at its nascent stage.

Sunday also saw the only women’s fight – that of between Meghalaya’s Apdalein Marwein and Akshata Khadtare. Marwein pushed her opponent to a full three rounds, but lost on a unanimous decision of the judges.

Winners from the Shillong edition will go on to the finals in Dimapur later in the year. All the fighters received prize money, with Rs 50,000 going to the winners and Rs 30,000 to the losers.

Jason Mawlong, Umsning MLA, was the chief guest at the closing ceremony and gave away the certificates to the participants.

Both amateur and professional fights were of three rounds. Each round of the amateur fights was of three minutes, while the rounds in the professional fights were of five minutes.

The winner in day one,Bout 1Winner – Palash MankodiOpponent – Abhigyan Pol Via Unanimous decision. Bout 2 Winner – Deepesh Bhagel Opponent – Earlmond Lyngdoh Via TKO (technical knockout) 2:21 mins Round 2.Bout 3 Winner – Aloto Zhimomi Opponent – Evanston Thangkhiew Via Arm bar 1:40 Round 2. Bout 4 Winner – Hinahito Aye Opponent – Hugai Raj Via TKO 1:55 Round 2. Bout 5 Winner – Ankur Patel Opponent – Abhijit Gogoi Via KO 44 secs Round 2.Bout 6 Winner – Tousif Malik Opponent – Chonbemo Odyuo Via Unanimous decision. Bout 7 Winner – Mairidin Newmai Opponent – Purushottam Prabhakar Via rear naked choke 2:30 Round 1. Bout Winner – Siddarth Trivedi Opponent – Amith Kumar Via TKO 2:33 Round 2.Bout 9 Winner – Kekhrieniesto Angami Opponent – Winner Talang Via rear naked choke 1:43 Round 1.Bout 10 Winner – Arsenba Ozukum Opponent- Bibet Warjri Via rear naked choke 1:19 Round 1. Bout 11 Winner – Vishnu Warrier Opponent – Welford Nongkhlaw Via unanimous decision. Bout 12 Winner – Anuj Varma Opponent – Wapang Pongen Via corner stoppage 2:53 Round 3 and Bout 13 Winner – Johnny Nongrum Opponent – Aditya Sunil Via Majority decision.

In the day two the winner are, Bout 1 Winner – Avizo Lanamai Opponent – Lamkordor Kharmyndai Via Unanimous decision.Bout 2 Winner- Karan Bhinmala Opponent – Benedict Lamin Via Unanimous decision.Bout 3 Winner – Carnold Marboh Opponent – Matsung Ozukum Via Majority decision. Bout 4 Winner – Dilip LR Opponent – Abdul Khader Via Unanimous decision.Bout 5 Winner -Ravi Jadhav Opponent- Rakesh Singh Via Unanimous decision. Bout 6 Winner – Navdeep Aggarwal Opponent – Mickey Sumer Via Tap out. Bout 7 Winner – Kaushik Saikumar Opponent – Naresh Kumar Via Unanimous decision.Bout 8 Winner – Manthan Rane Opponent – Prakop Rai Via rear naked choke 44secs Round 1. Bout 9 Winner – Akshata Khadtare Opponent- Apdalein Marwein Via Unanimous decision.Bout 10 Main card Bout 1 Winner – Sunny Khatri Opponent- Andy Masynting Via Unanimous decision.Bout 11 Main card Bout 2 Winner – Atif Mohammed Opponent- Choudhurimayum Ananda Sharma Via knock out 21 secs round 1.Bout 12 Main event Winner – Susovan Ghosh Opponent- Pranjal Bordoloi Via knock out 34 secs round 1.

What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment