The ECI decides to defer bye-elections to 13-Mawryngkneng and 47-Rajabala AC

New Delhi, May 5: The Election Commission of India decides to defer bye-elections of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies in various States and UT in view of Pandemic-– Regarding.

There are notified three vacancies in Parliamentary Constituencies namely Dadra & Nagar Haveli, 28-Khandwa (Madhya Pradesh) and 2-Mandi  (Himachal Pradesh) and eight vacancies in Assembly Constituencies.

The constituencies namely 01-Kalka and 46-Ellenabad in Haryana, 155-Vallabhnagar in Rajasthan, 33-Sindgi in Karnataka, 47-Rajabala and 13-Mawryngkneng (ST) in Meghalaya, 08-Fatehpur in Himachal Pradesh and 124-Badvel (SC) in  Andhra Pradesh.

There are few more vacancies of seats for which reports and  notifications are awaited and being confirmed.

As per the provisions of section 151A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the vacancies are required to be filled, through bye-elections within  six months from the date of occurrence of vacancy, provided that the remainder  of the term in relation to the vacancy is one year or more.

The Commission has reviewed the matter today and has decided that due to outbreak of the second wave of COVID-19 in the country it  would not be appropriate to hold bye-elections till the pandemic situation  significantly improves and conditions become conducive to hold these  bye-elections.

The Commission will take a decision in the matter at appropriate time in the future after taking inputs from the concerned states and assessing the  pandemic situation from mandated authorities like NDMA/SDMA.


What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment


Where to buy Vidalista Professional 20 Mg (Tadalafil) tablet