The Govt of Meghalaya reconstituted the three RC to examine the remaining six areas of differences

Shillong, March 24: The Government of Meghalaya has reconstituted the three Regional Committees to examine the present status of the remaining six areas of differences viz., Langpih in West Khasi Hills District; Borduar, Nongwah-Mawtamur, Deshdoomreah, Block-II in Ri Bhoi District; Block- I, Psiar – Khanduli in West Jaintia Hills District.

For Ri Bhoi District, the Committee will consists of Shri Prestone Tynsong, Deputy Chief Minister inchrge Home (Police), etc as Chairperson, Shri Sosthenes Sohtun, MLA Jirang, Government Chief Whip, Shri Mayralborn Syiem, MLA Nongpoh Constituency, Shri Damanbait Lamare, MLA Umroi Constituency, Shri Charles Marngar, MLA Mawhati Constituency, Shri Jambor War, Executive Member KHADC (Elaka) as Members and Deputy Commissioner, Ri Bhoi District as a Member Convenor.

For West Khasi Hills, the Committee will consist of Shri Paul Lyngdoh, Minister incharge  Social Welfare, etc as the Chairperson, Shri R.L. Tongkhar, MLA Mawkyrwat Constituency, Shri Methodious Dkhar, MLA Mawshynrut Constituency, Shri Remington Gabil Momin, MLA Rambrai-Jyrngam Constituency, Shri Gigur Myrthong, Deputy CEM, KHADC, Shri Bajop Pyngrope, MDC, Rambrai-Jyrngam KHADC as Members and Deputy Commissioner, West Khasi Hills District as a Member Convenor.

For West Jaintia Hills, the Committee will consists of Shri Sniawbhalang Dhar, Minister incharge  Urban Affairs, etc as Chairperson, Shri Comingone Ymbon, Minister Food Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs, etc, Shri Lahkmen Rymbui, MLA Amlarem Constituency, Shri Nujorki Sungoh, MLA Mowkaiaw Constituency, Shri Thombor Shiwat, CEM, JHADC, Shri Aiborlang Shadap, MDC, Barato-Mukroh, JHADC and Deputy Commissioner West Jaintia Hills District as a Member Convenor.

The terms of reference of the Regional Committee is to coordinate with the relevant Regional Committee set up by the Government of Assam, to cross-reference and verify the names of the villages (sub-villages) claimed by Meghalaya with the names of villages as per records of Government of Assam, to establish the geographical location of the villages and their contiguity.

They are to examine the status of population of villages as per census records including ethnicity and to prepare an ‘As-Is’ Public Asset Register in the villages, created by both the State Governments.

To visit each of the villages and interact with the communities living in the villages including the elected representatives of the Autonomous District Councils and other stakeholders to learn about the perception of the people living in the area and to document the factual information regarding the physical and time-wise distances from the villages to the nearest public service delivery point, administrative unit. The Committee can co-opt any member whenever necessary.

In terms of logistics and secretarial support, the jurisdictional Deputy Commissioners will provide all the secretarial and logistic support for effective functioning of the Committees and the Member Convenor of the respective Committee should fix the date of visit and discussion in consultation with their respective counterpart in Assam.

With regards to the report of the Committee, the Committees will submit the report to the Government of Meghalaya within a period of 45 days from the date of this notification based on the inspection of the villages and based on the agreed yardsticks of historical perspective, ethnicity of the local population, administrative convenience of local people, contiguity with the boundary and the perception of the people living in the area.This was informed by the Chief Secretary, Government of Meghalaya.

What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment


Where to buy Vidalista Professional 20 Mg (Tadalafil) tablet