The MGA revamp the association, Mr Lambor Malngiang elected as its President

Shillong, Oct 02: With the upcoming National Games 2022, to be hosted by Meghalaya, the Meghalaya Gymnastic Association felt the need to revive and revamp the association so as to train and prepare athletes for the national event.

Keeping this in mind the National Games of 2022, the Meghalaya Gymnastic Association in the recent meeting that was held revived the association and a new body was re-elected under the leadership of Mr  Lambor Malngiang, with a vision to inspire athletes to discover and pursue their aspiration in Gymnastics.

The newly revived association aims to provide children and athletes with an opportunity to participate in this particular discipline while contributing to the sports upliftment in the State. The association aspire to foster and encourage Gymnastic at all level and also to raise the standard of gymnastic in the State.

To encourage young sports persons and to extend all possible help to State Government in developing Gymnastic are other aspirations of the association. Mention may be made that gymnasts from Meghalaya participated for the first time in the North East Sports festival held in Dimapur, Nagaland in 1989 which consisted of six boys and one girl.

In the year 1994, Meghalaya won its first bronze medal in the North East Sports festival held in Shillong. Gymnastics demonstrations during the Republic Day and Independence Day parade were a regular feature in 1991-1993. Besides, gymnasts from Meghalaya have brought laurels to the state by participating in various National Games, National School Games and North East Games.

The New office bearers of the Meghalaya Gymnastic Association, apart from the president Mr Francis Marwein was elelcted as the advisor, Mr J R Marak as the working president, Mr Betterfield Mukhim and Mr ER Malngiang as Vice President, Smti Lucy Mary Malngiang as the General Secretary, Smti Rida Lyndem and Connifer V Kharchandy as Joint Secretary, others office bears are,  Moirangthem Rustum Singh, Idalin Malngiang, Arwan Kharpuri and six executive members.



What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment