Total of 198 stations of NFR provided with free WiFi during current financial year

Maligaon, Oct 10: The Indian Railways is providing fast and  free Wi-Fi to passengers at Railway stations as a giant leap towards Digital India. Rail Wire Wi-Fi at Railways stations is gaining popularity and is a preferred choice of the Rail users and passengers while at railway stations.

High speed Wi-Fi services at Railway stations have earlier been provided through collaboration of RailTel and Google in first phase. RailTel provided high speed end to end network connectivity on Optical Fiber Cable (OFC) & Google provided Radio access network equipment along with technology support.

The N. F. Railway covers total nine states seven of  the North-eastern states and two of Eastern India states. All A1, A, B, D class stations of N. F. Railway’s jurisdiction were covered with Wi-Fi facility in phase -I. Majority of taluk headquarters that have railway stations have now been provided with Wi-Fi network.

This year 295 stations on NFR  of Katihar Division 54 stations, Alipurduar Division 55 stations, Rangiya Division 64 stations, Lumding Division 87 stations and Tinsukia Division 35 stations will be provided with Wi-Fi under Corporate Social Responsibility by M/s Tata Trust. With this all the 363 stations of NFR will have except halt stations free Wi-Fi hotspots by the end of current financial year.

Till last month 198 stations have already been provided with free Wi-Fi facilities. Of which 64 stations were commissioned during the month of September only. These include 17 stations of Tinsukia division Panitola, Makum Jn., Dhamalgaon, Leptkata, Dikom, Chabua, Tingrai, Digboi, Lahoal, Margherita, Chaulkhowa, Khowang, Naharkatiya, Dibrugarh Town, Moranhat, Tangani, Selenghat.

The  20 stations of Lumding division Rangapahar, Dhansiri, Daldali, Diphu, Jagiroad, Khotkhoti, Bokajan, Chungajan, Naojan, Katakhal, Panchgram,  Sarupathar, Barpathar, Bhilgaon, Bhanga, Badarpur, Karimganj, Nilambazar, Barlongfar, Langcholet.

The 11 station of Rangiya division Changsari, Sripani, North Lakhimpur, Gogamukh, Pancharatna, Krishnai, Amjonga, Silapathar, Dhupdhara, Rangjuli, Singra.

The  7 stations of Alipurduar division Dalgaon, Basugaon, New Baneswar, Gumanihat, New Chengrabandha, Chengrabandha, Kalaigram and the 9 stations of Katihar division Bhatnaha, Araria Court, Jhaua, Hatwar, Kanki, Dalkhola, Telta, Manihari, Arariya.

Railway passengers can now easily purchase UTS tickets from these stations by using mobile Apps. They can also avail various facilities and  information while on railway stations free of cost. It is estimated that about 20,000 users in Railway Premises everyday are first time users of the internet and there are very heart-warming stories of how the station Wi-Fi has helped to transform lives.



What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment


Where to buy Vidalista Professional 20 Mg (Tadalafil) tablet