Three teachers of SWGH District conferred with district awards on the Teachers Day

Ampati, September 5: Three school teachers of South West Garo Hills were conferred with the District Awards during the Teachers’ Day celebration at Ampati on September 5, 2017. The celebration, organized jointly by the District School Education Office and teachers of the district, was marked by songs and dances by teachers and school children, while rich tributes were paid to teachers by various speakers on the occasion.

There recipients of the District Awards were, the Asstt Teacher of Ampati Govt. Higher Secondary School, Rushwaldam, Asstt. Teacher of Nogorpara Govt. U.P. School Saindrick R. Marak and Head Teacher of Bangkapara Govt. L.P.School, Rasang R. Marak; while Scout Master of Nogorpara Sec. School, Samson M. Marak and Guide Captain of Boldamgre U.P. School, Julie A. Sangma were honoured as the best Scout Master and the best Guide Captain of the district, respectively.

Mahendraganj legislator & Chairperson, Meghalaya Resource & Employment Generation Council, Dikkanchi D. Shira was the chief guest on the occasion and gave away the awards along with the Deputy Commissioner, Cyril V.D. Diengdoh who as participated in the celebration as the guest of honour.

Extending her heartfelt greetings to the teachers and acknowledging their hard work and dedication, Dikkanchi D. Shira said that the attitude, actions and thoughts of the teachers can actually shape the lives of their students. Reminding the teachers of their roles and responsibilities, she cited a few real life examples of how a positive attitude and prayerful guidance of certain teachers have brought about a turnaround in the lives of some students who were considered to be very weak in studies. She exhorted the teachers to rededicate themselves to the cause of all round development of the students and also expressed her deep sense of appreciation to the multi-faceted role of teachers in the society.

Deputy Commissioner C.V.D.Diengdoh, Principal of St. Claret Secondary School, Ampati, Fr. Stephen Daning Prabu,  District School Education Officer, Ampati, C.J. Sangma, Principal, Ampati Govt. Higher Secondary School, K.R. Marak, one of the teacher Awardees and one of the students also spoke on the occasion.

What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment